Smart Vision at Sea

  • ASV - DET

ASV-DET module

A module dedicated to automatic detection

Video analysis software have existed for several years and generally target land-based applications. They use simple  processing techniques based on comparison of images or recognition of shapes in a fixed environment.

The sea is in constant motion, and techniques used in land-based applications therefore do not work. They create multiple, continuous, false detections or mask small objects and far-off targets that are often critical.

Result of eight years of research and development, ASV-DET is the software dedicated to automatic detection. It is based on a video analytics technology that takes into consideration the complexity of the marine environment. Indeed it provides an innovative solution to the complex problem of detecting a moving or fixed object (target) from a mobile platform (ship) in an environment in motion (sea).

Designed and developed by our teams, this new patented algorithmic approach reproduces the behaviour of the human eye strongly attracted by distinctive  features present in a uniform landscape. It is based on a characterisation of the marine environment so that anomalies (objects to be detected) can be extracted.

The principal functionalities of the ASV-DET module

  • Automatic detection and real-time tracking in each of the images provided
  • Management of image flows from 0.5 Hz to 30 Hz
  • Analysis of all types of images: thermal, infrared or visible imagery
  • Compatibility with all types of cameras (fixed, PTZ, panoramic)
  • Detection and tracking of objects:
    1. of very small size (from 2 pixels)
    2. up to sea state 5
    3. irrespectively  of their shape and behaviour
    4. regardless of their kinematic behaviour (immobile, low speed or high speed (> 35 knots)
  • Detection and tracking of up to several dozen objects (performance limited solely by the power of the processor associated with the software), with the ability to discriminate among various types of objects detected.

Strong points:


  • Unique technology for detection in maritime environments
  • Automatic detection from 2 pixels
  • Camera ‘agnostic’, can be used with any type of IR or visible camera

Newsletter ASV

LinkedinTwitterGoogle +

Smart Vision at Sea

  • ASV - DET

Module ASV - DET

Un module dédié à la détection automatique

Les systèmes d’analyse vidéo existent depuis plusieurs années et ciblent généralement des applications terrestres, avec des problématiques de traitement simple qui s’appuie sur des techniques de comparaison d’images ou de reconnaissance de formes dans un panorama fixe.

La mer est en mouvement permanent et les techniques terrestres d’analyse d’images ne fonctionnent pas. Elles créent de multiples et permanentes fausses détections ou masquent les petits objets et les cibles lointaines souvent critiques.

Fruit de plus de huit années de recherche et développement, ASV-DET est le module dédié à la détection automatique. Il repose sur une technologie d’analyse d’image qui prend en compte la complexité de l’environnement marin. A ce titre elle résout de manière innovante la problématique complexe de la détection d’un objet mobile ou fixe (cible) à partir d'une plate-forme mobile (navire) dans un environnement en mouvement (mer).

Conçu et développé par nos équipes, cette nouvelle approche algorithmique brevetée reproduit le comportement de l’œil humain attiré par des particularités présentes dans un paysage uniforme. Elle s'appuie sur une caractérisation du milieu marin pour en extraire des anomalies (objets à détecter).

Les principales fonctionnalites du module ASV - DET

  • Détection automatique et pistage en temps réel dans chacune des images fournies
  • Gestion des flux d’image de 0.5Hz à 30 Hz
  • Analyse de tout type d’image : thermique, infrarouge ou de l’imagerie visible
  • Compatibilité avec tout type de caméra (fixe, balayage, panoramique)
  • Détection et pistage des objets :
    1. de très petite taille (à partir de 2 pixels).
    2. jusqu’à mer force 5
    3. indépendamment de leur forme et de leur comportement
    4. quelle que doit leur cinématique (piste immobile, à faible vitesse ou grande vitesse (>35 nœuds).
  • Détection et pistage jusqu’à plusieurs dizaines d’objets (performance limitée uniquement par la puissance du calculateur associé au logiciel) avec une discrimination entre différents types d’objets détectés.

Points forts :


  • Technologie unique de détection en milieu maritime
  • Détection automatique dès 2 pixels
  • Caméra 'agnostic', exploitation de tout type de caméras IR ou visibles

Newsletter ASV

LinkedinTwitterGoogle +